Mother’s counsel

The greatest discovery of my generation is that human beings can alter their lives by altering their attitudes of mind. 

To me, it started with my mother.  Three years back while I was working for a company, everyday I used to come back home exhausted more because of boredom than work rigors. Still I didn’t have the guts to chuck my job and start a business because it kept paying all my bills. It kept my family happy, except the two of us who quietly grieved. I, being the trapped one; and my Mother, because she knew why I was putting up with it. 

Then one day when she could take no more of my suffering, she told me this.  “To start the business you want to, you have to look into the future and pretend you already were there. You have to stop treating the gestation or no-revenue period like some necessary evil, use that time to learn skills, build relationships and trust the investment would work.”  Coming from someone with modest education and just small town exposure, I was stunned. 

If you want to do something, just do it. Minds are like parachutes – they only function when open. The only way to achieve your goals is to jump right in and get started. You don’t need instructions, and you don’t need to be an expert.  It is our attitude at the beginning of a difficult task which, more than anything else, will affect it’s successful outcome. 

Mohammed Ali once said “To be a great champion you must believe you are the best. If you’re not, pretend you are.”  Boxing has hardly been the sport my Mother loved. I am sure, she wouldn’t have heard him either….

.

Leave a Reply

