Lessons from life

To improve is to change. To be perfect is to change often’ – Winston Churchill 

How true. It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in change there is power. 

Coming to think of it, I’ve had a checkered life throughout. I grew up a small town boy, all of 19 when I lost my dad. The hard toil and struggle that followed taught me skills of endurance while working my way up in the big cities. My mentor was life itself. All my life theories have spun out of that experience.  

My favorite expression is “working-the-system”.  I mean, you never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete. Life has this habit of not standing hitched. You got to ride it like you find it. You got to change with it. If a day goes by that don’t change some of your old notions for new ones, it’s like trying to milk a dead cow. 

All good and bad things do pass. Everything flows and nothing abides; everything gives way and nothing stays fixed. Cool things become warm, the warm grows cool; the moist dries, the parched becomes moist. Life is more like a rhapsody – irregular in form, emotional in effect and improvisational in nature; but lively music all the same. 

Safety is just an illusion like ships in a harbor where they are safest.  But is that where they are meant to be?  So don’t waste a lifetime trying to be safe. You’ll lead a boring life. My advise – Live it up. Take risks by making intelligent bets. It’s worth it. 

One Response to “Lessons from life”

  1. My Beijing Hero « Angel 4 Angels Says:

    […] Art of living hour by hour.  Tell that to me, a Ph D from the school of hard knocks […]

Leave a Reply

