Goal Keeping

Recently I had a meeting with a bunch of startup entrepreneurs. They were brilliant engineers who had over a decade of hardcore experience in high end technology between them. All super achievers with excellent credentials and have worked hard and traveled across the world many times over. But when I called on them recently, they seemed totally lost. Reason – over the last three months, they haven’t been able to execute even a single order which is crucial to their scale up plans. Were there technology glitches, last minute spec changes by the customer or emergence of new bugs. This was weighing heavily on them and they looked like a terrible pack of losers, which I knew they hardly were.  

My soccer coach from my school days came to my mind somehow. He had once found us in similar droop after we’d lost a match 2-1. That day he used this “goal keeping” technique on us – actually it’s got nothing to do with *goal keeping* as in a soccer game. It just meant “never lose sight of your immediate goal” – which is to keep passing the ball across the field. It makes the ultimate act of scoring a lot more easier since that is only on the last player’s – the one near the opponent’s post – mind.  It had a great impact on our energy levels at the next match with the same opponent which we won 6 – 0.   

If ever it could be put to use, it’s here and now, I thought.  The workplace was filled with the melancholic air.  I decided to get them out of it to drive some sense in. I asked them out and we treated ourselves to an early lunch at a nearby restaurant.  I just listened thro that lunch when they started pouring out, taking turns.  I thanked my dad for that result, he taught me how to listen as if I were wrong and to argue as if I were right.  I could realize how powerful a tool listening can be.   

While I had remained a listener all thro, I could sense their discomfiture while we were dipping into our dessert.  In the end, I did articulate to them whatever little I’d understood, since I knew all they needed was a sounding board.  All of them felt relieved having let their steam out.  I was sure they would now be capable of solving their problems, since their minds have gotten rid of the clutter.  But I never realized the hour long session had left such an impact on them when to my surprise, one of them had taken mental notes of our brainstorming and had put it up on his desktop the next day.  I am at liberty to share that. 

Excerpts – 

Want it enough. If you’re not getting what you think you want, then you may not want it enough. Look at what’s at stake for you if you don’t get it. Either increase your desire and commitment or let the goal go and choose another one. It’s important that you feel good about wanting your goals. Longing, frustration and feelings of depravation can hold you back, so only increase your desire to the point where you can still feel good about it. 

Focus on imagination. You are always right. If you think you can, you can. If you think you can’t, you can’t. Increasing your belief is mainly best managed through having a strong, clear vision. 

Walk, slip, walk. The single quality common to all successful people is persistence. Take the actions necessary to create your life the way you really want it. When you run into obstacles and experience failures, pick yourself up and keep on walking. 

Break your thoughts up and rebuild. To get what you want, you must put in a certain amount of time and energy. Most of that will be in the area of managing your thinking. You’ll have to change bad habits, go through some necessary internal growth and overcome disappointments. Plus, you’ll have to learn how to be in action effectively and joyfully. 

To this I might as well ad some nice quotes.  I always liked quotes.  Did you too ?

2 Responses to “Goal Keeping”

  1. Ben Casnocha Says:

    Good post. I like the walk, slip, walk image.

  2. Wanting it enough ! « Angel 4 Angels Says:

    […] it enough ! A curious reader of my earlier post Goal Keeping, asked me “when can we be sure that we have wanted something enough ?”  Honestly, I wasn’t […]

Leave a Reply

